Donor Agency

European Union

The European Union is an economic and political union of 27 European countries. It is founded on the values of respect for human dignity, freedom, democracy, equality, the rule of law and respect for human rights, including the rights of persons belonging to minorities. It acts globally to promote sustainable development of societies, environment and economies, so that everyone can benefit.


The Caribbean Forum is a sub-group of the Organisation of African, Caribbean and Pacific States and serves as a base for economic dialogue with the European Union. Its membership comprises the 15 Caribbean Community states, along with the Dominican Republic. In October 2008 Antigua and Barbuda, The Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Dominica, Grenada, Guyana, Jamaica, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Suriname, Trinidad and Tobago, and the Dominican Republic signed the CARIFORUM-EU Economic Partnership Agreement with the EU. Read more about the EU CARIFORUM trade relationship here: 

Caribbean Community (CARICOM)

The Caribbean Community (CARICOM) is a grouping of 20 countries: 15 Member States and 5 Associate Members. It is home to approximately sixteen million citizens, 60% of whom are under the age of 30, and from the main ethnic groups of Indigenous Peoples, Africans, Indians, Europeans, Chinese, Portuguese and Javanese. The Community is multi-lingual, with English as the major language complemented by French and Dutch and variations of these, as well as African and Asian expressions. Stretching from The Bahamas in the north to Suriname and Guyana in South America, CARICOM comprises states that are considered developing countries, and except for Belize in Central America and Guyana and Suriname in South America, all Members and Associate Members are island states.

Caribbean Regional Fisheries Mechanism (CRFM)

The Caribbean Regional Fisheries Mechanism (CRFM) was officially inaugurated on 27th March 2003, in Belize City, Belize, where it is headquartered, following the signing of the “Agreement Establishing the CRFM” on February 4th, 2002. It is an inter-governmental organisation with its mission being “To promote and facilitate the responsible utilisation of the region's fisheries and other aquatic resources for the economic and social benefit of the current and future population of the region.” The CRFM consists of three bodies – the Ministerial Council; the Caribbean Fisheries Forum; and the CRFM Secretariat. Its members are: Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, The Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Dominica, Grenada, Guyana, Haiti, Jamaica, Montserrat, St. Kitts and Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Suriname, Trinidad and Tobago and the Turks and Caicos Islands.